Kings Park Residents: RESEND Your Opt-Out Letter

By | April 27, 2014

Please share this information….

It has come to our attention that some (perhaps even all) administrators are requiring parents to send in a separate refusal letter for the Math testing that is schedule to begin this week.  Parents that refused the ELA test must submit a new letter regardless if the old letter was directed a both tests.  Unfortunately, the KPCSD has not alerted any community members about this and continues to deliberately cause misinformation.

The information comes directly from a parent that spoke with Mrs. Montecalvo and Mr. Massimo.  It is a shame that they did not reach out to parents to inform them of this unwritten and unapproved policy that they decided to create.

KPEA is recommending that all parents that wish to refuse the math testing, resubmit their letter via email and with a telephone confirmation.   Please send you emails to the building principals AND the classroom teachers.  You should also include Dr. Agruso and the KP BOE.

Here are some resources that residents might find helpful:

1) Opt-out resources, including a form letter for refusing the state tests: http://www.nysape.org/refusing-the-test-resources.html

2) Contact information for sending your letters via email, with a telephone confirmation:

  • Dr. Susan Agruso – agrusos@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3310
  • Marie Goldstein – President – Email: goldsteinm@kpcsd.org – 631-754-4988
  • Tom Locascio – Vice President – Email: tlocascio@gmail.com – (631) 879-1880
  • Diane Nally – Trustee – Email: DianeNallykp@aol.com – 631.269-6842
  • Charles Leo – Trustee – Email: charlie@leoselectric.com
  • Patti Capobianco – District Clerk – 180 Lawrence Road – Room 208 – Kings Park, New York 11754 – Email: capobiancop@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3314

Park View

  • Mr. Dwayne Adsitt – Interim Principal – adsittd@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3771
  • Ms. Hillary Bromberg – Assistant Principal – brombergh@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3770

Fort Salonga Elementary

  • Mrs. Stephanie Montecalvo – Principal – montecalvo@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3365
  • Ms. Hillary Bromberg – Assistant Principal – brombergh@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3364

R.J.O. Intermediate

  • Mr. Rudy Massimo – Principal – massimor@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3798
  • Mr. Charles King – Assistant Principal – kingc@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3798

William T. Rogers Middle School

  • Mrs. Lauren Moreno – Principal – morenol@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3371
  • Ms. Joanne Kelleher – Assistant Principal – kelleherj@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3369
  • Ms. Kathleen Ventura – Assistant Principal [Interim] – venturak@kpcsd.org – 631-269-3369

Don’t forget to include the classroom teachers.  Each building  has a staff directory:  http://www.kpcsd.k12.ny.us/staff_directory.cfm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *